Board of County Commissioners

New County Commission-1 LR.jpg

The Florida Constitution states the governing body of each county shall be a Board of County Commissioners composed of five members serving staggered terms of four years, except when otherwise provided by county charter.

After each 10-year census, the Board of County Commissioners shall divide the county into districts of contiguous territory as nearly equal in population as practicable. One commissioner residing in each district shall be elected by the electors of the county.

Danny Kolhage


George Neugent


Heather Carruthers

Heather Carruthers

David Rice


Sylvia Murphy

Commissioner Commissioner Commissioner
Mayor Mayor Pro Tem
District 1
Email Danny Kolhage
530 Whitehead Street
Suite 102
Key West, FL 33040
(305) 292-3440
District 2
Email George Neugent
25 Ships Way
Big Pine Key, FL 33043
(305) 872-1678
District 3
Email Heather Carruthers
500 Whitehead Street,
Suite 102
Key West, FL 33040
(305) 292-3430
District 4
Email David Rice
9400 Overseas Hwy,
Suite 210
Marathon, FL 33050
(305) 289-6000
District 5
Email Sylvia Murphy
102050 Overseas Hwy,
Suite 234
Key Largo, FL 33037
(305) 453-8787


The Board of County Commissioners meets on the third Wednesday and Thursday of every month at 9 a.m. at one of the following three locations:

Murray E Nelson Government Center
102050 Overseas Highway
Key Largo, FL 33037

Marathon Government Center
2798 Overseas Highway
Marathon, FL 33050

Harvey Government Center
1200 Truman Avenue
Key West, FL 33040


ADA Assistance:If you are a person with a disability who needs special accommodations in order to participate in these proceedings, please contact the County Administrator's Office, by phoning 305-292-4441, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m., no later than five (5) calendar days prior to the scheduled meeting; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call "711."

BOCC Meetings and Agendas

BOCC 2018 Meeting Schedule

ADA Accommodation Request Form